Boards of Education

The Avalon and Stone Harbor Elementary Schools Boards of Education are committed to providing a quality education program for every student. We strive to ensure that all students are proficient in the Common Core State Standards and New Jersey Core Curriculum Content Standards. Our children will be taught in a safe and positive environment and will learn to be responsible, confident and caring citizens.

We are committed to the following:

  • To make the students the heart of the school, with every teacher giving instruction in sound fundamentals and inspiring every student to work to the limit of his/her ability.
  • To develop in each child a full appreciation and acceptance of the responsibilities as well as the privileges of our democratic society.
  • To develop the habits and attitudes essential for personal integrity and civic competence.
  • To emphasize maximum achievement and proficiency in the fundamentals of reading, computation, writing, and oral and written composition.
  • To assist pupils to recognize and discover interests and aptitude for vocational purposes as well as for personal growth and development.
  • To promote health and physical fitness.
  • To develop the traits of initiative and self-reliance through classroom practices.
  •  To teach respect for other pupils, for adults, and for constituted authority.

Avalon Board of Education

Mrs. Fiori swearing in Mrs. Scarpa and Mrs. Binder 

Mrs. Fiori swearing in Mrs. Scarpa and Mrs. Binder

Lynn Schwartz, President lschwartz@avesnj.org
Kim Schiela, Vice President kschiela@avesnj.org
John Richardson jrichardson@avesnj.org
Lois Scarpa lscarpa@avesnj.org
Alexis Binder, abinder@avesnj.org

Stone Harbor Board of Education

Stone Harbor BOE Members
Standing: Suzanne Walters, Lois Scarpa, Bob Ross
Seated: Maggie Day, Dr. John McAllister, Mark Matreale


Suzanne Walters, President 
walterss@shesnj.org
Mark Matreale, Vice Presidentmatrealem@shesnj.org
Maggie Day daym@shesnj.org
Dr. John McAllister mcallisterj@shesnj.org
Bob Ross rossb@shesnj.org
Lois Scarpa, Avalon Representative lscarpa@avesnj.org